Why I Chose to Pursue a Career in Sports Marketing

During the fall semester of my fifth year (current year) in school, I took an e-Marketing course. A requirement for this course was that we pick a career focus, and spend a large portion of the semester using Twitter to assist with a potential job search.

Being that I was 22 years old at the time and coming close to the end of my college career, one would assume that I had spent a lot of time thinking about what I would be doing after graduation. However, like most of my peers, dealing with classes and assignments, I had not gotten to the point of giving my future career a lot of that.

It’s a fairly stressful time in a student’s career, to suddenly realize that you will be out in the “real world” having to make your own way without relying on trying to schedule classes around your friend’s schedules, nights out, and all the other things you can indulge in while in college.

The Moment of Truth

As I sat in class trying to figure out what my career focus was going to be, I landed on one of the focuses that my professor suggested during lecture. From childhood, I have always been a fan of sports. The field of sports marketing was one that I was not extremely familiar with, but for the sake of getting the assignment done for the semester, I decided to look more into it.

The weeks began to pass by, and I was searching through Twitter to find influencers in the field and doing my best to connect with them. I did not fully realize it at the time, but this class was helping me to get a head start over my peers looking to get their degrees in other fields.

-A boy does what he wants to do. A man

Time went on, and the assignment went from feeling like “busy work” to an actual job search (its intended purpose). I became more excited to log on, share articles that I had found, and work on connecting with other like-minded individuals in the field as well as potentially hearing from those who I saw to be Sports Marketing influencers.

I was able to focus on a field that involved one of my personal interests while combining it with the field I was studying to get my degree in. What had started out as something I was doing to get a satisfactory grade in my e-Marketing course grew to be a field that I am strongly considering entering upon my graduation from college.

The Take Away

My experience in my e-Marketing course helped me to feel as though I was prepared for my future job search.

Not everyone in college has everything perfectly mapped out for life after graduation, but with the correct use of campus resources and lessons learned in class, it is not difficult to get started on the right track.

What is your experience with finding a career focus? What tips or helpful suggestions do you have to offer?

Leave a Reply

